Liza Minnelli to be Honored with Lifetime Achievement Award
The 30th Annual Astaire Awards to honor Liza Minelli & others


June 4th brings the 30th Annual Fred & Adele Astaire Awards to NYU at the Skirball Center for Performing Arts at 7:30pm. Liza Minnelli will be honored with its Douglas Watt Lifetime Achievement Award! We all know Liza (who didn't love her in recent endeavour Arrested Development?), winner of four Tony Awards, an Oscar, a special "Legends" Grammy, two Golden Globe Awards, and an Emmy. Now that's impressive. In film, television, and on stage, Liza has won critical acclaim, as well as a following of fans.

This year, the Astaire Awards will also begin a new tradition of paying tribute to the career and work of a choreographer and dancer during the awards. This year, they will be remembering Bob Fosse and Gwen Verdon, and some signature Bob Fosse numbers featuring current Broadway stars will be a part of the show. You might remember Bob Fosse from when he direct Liza in the film version of Cabaret, for which she won an Oscar. This year's awards ceremony will also be dedicated to Tony and Oscar winning producer Marty Richards.

The Astaire Awards honor excellence in dance and choreography on Broadway and in film, and were first started in 1982 by Fred Astaire and Douglas Watt. The awards are presented each year by Ava Astaire (Fred's daughter) and Patricia Watt (Douglas's daughter). The nominees for this year's awards will be announced at an invite-only cocktail reception on May 7th at The Lamb's Club. The categories are as follows: Outstanding Male Dancer in a Broadway Show, Outstanding Female Dancer in a Broadway Show, Outstanding Choreographer for a Broadway Show, Outstanding Choreographer for Film, and Outstanding Director for Dance Documentary. Each year, the Astaire Awards also gives a special Adele Astaire Scholarship to an up and coming dancer, and this year they will honor producer Kathleen Raitt with a special award recognition.

Select tickets will be available to the public, with price points of $425, $175, and $75 and can be purchased here.